• winton castle
contact

Winton Cottage Self Catering Reviews

5 bedroom Winton Cottage, East Lothian

Wonderful Family Venue

Great country location and close to a pretty East Lothian village. The property is very well appointed and comfortable while retaining its original character. Beautiful views and grounds with several pleasant walks.

—salespau on 05/18/2017


Fabulous cottage, location and customer service

Winton Cottage is a stunning 5 bedroom property (is more a house as it is huge inside). The customer service from James Maynard and his team was outstanding, nothing was too much trouble and were very quick to send you a response to any questions. James helped me to setup a private tour of Winton Castle , afternoon tea with bubbles (amazing scones) and an afternoon of massages where the ladies came to the house. We had an amazing time and will definitely be back to stay on the estate. This is a perfect location for a reunion (as we had) or a relaxing family get together. I can not thank James and his team enough for making our stay fantastic.

—Rosie F on 03/05/2017


Great for Christmas

We stayed at Winton Cottage for Christmas and had a wonderful time. The layout of the bedrooms with separate staircases and a suite downstairs made it excellent for multiple families to stay and not feel on top of each other. The spacious kitchen and dining area accommodated our group of nine with ease and the games room was very popular in the evenings. The sitting room provided a fabulous setting for opening presents on Christmas Day, with the fire burning. We enjoyed making use of the garden (even in December!) and admired the well-kept grounds of the Estate. The only thing we felt could be improved was the number of TVs. We are not a bunch of telly addicts, but there is only one TV for the whole property, which was a little problematic when staying with different generations at Christmas-time.

—Louise N on 01/01/2016


Fabulous facilities in gorgeous, private surroundings

Enjoyed a most comfortable business meeting here as part of a residential visit. The cottage is not really a cottage but a high end extremely comfortable small scale country house retreat. The gardens are colourful and well maintained, and made a welcome break between sessions. the food from a local caterer brought in by the owners, was excellent. highly recommended, for business or pleasure.

—Andy1512 on 09/23/2015


The perfect place for our residential corporate meeting

This proved to be the perfect location for our residential corporate meeting. Excellent food, accommodation, facilities and service in beautiful secluded surroundings. So much better than a sterile hotel!

—David O on 09/22/2015


Beautiful cottage in a lovely location and ideal for our residential business meeitng.

I stayed at this cottage as part of a corporate residential meeting. Not only was it extremely comfortable and well appointed, it made the perfect venue for our board and strategic meeting. Ideal for blue sky thinking with plenty break out space and a beautiful walled garden. The catering was also superb. Would love to return to this cottage for either business or perhaps a holiday with friends.

—Susan M on 09/22/2015


Great location for business meeting!

Comfortable overnight stay in well-appointed cottage and ideal location for an all-day business meeting. No distractions and within half an hour's drive from Edinburgh city center making it a good venue that suited our needs. Catering was excellent.

—Fiona G on 09/22/2015


Fantastic Accommodation, Superb Location!

I visited here recently for a residential event with my company and would thoroughly recommend the property. The location and venue are stunning, easily accessible with good directions available from the website. The facilities are excellent for a residential meeting, with 5 bedrooms available within the cottage and great meeting space. If you want to get away from the office and inspire creativity then this is the place! If you have time, they also offer a wide selection of team building activities. The catering was first class and the staff were extremely helpful and keen to ensure that our event ran as smoothly as possible. I would have no hesitation in booking this venue again and recommending it to others.

—westcoaster11_10 on 09/21/2015


Top notch accommodation set in idyllic surroundings

We stayed in Winton Cottage prior to a board meeting and strategy session the next day. We could not have asked for more. Jo's catering was excellent and reasonable, the accommodation was very well appointed and meeting facilities were perfect. A real 'away day' with all the benefits

—EvaMc on 09/18/2015


A timeless example of the epitome of Scotland's beauty

An idyllic place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and were impressed with the size and grandeur of both the cottage (more like a castle) and the estate as a whole! Would also highly recommend the clay pigeon shooting!

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/30/2015


A fabulous trip with fabulous friends in fabulous accommodation!

I recently enjoyed a trip at Winton Cottage with a group of 11 of my close friends for a celebration of my 50th birthday. The property had large, well equipped rooms which were spotless. The 5 bathrooms meant that there was no queuing for showers/bath facilities. The beds are very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are immaculate. There are several communal areas including a games room and lovely lounge area with open fire as well as a large, comfortable lounge/dining area just off the kitchen where we spent most of our time as a group. We were allowed to have a mobile beautician who set up in one of the communal areas so that we could each enjoy a pampering session and we did not feel like we had sacrificed space. At one point we required some help with regards the heating and the caretaker not only responded immediately but was very friendly and extremely helpful. We are already planning our second trip as the only complaint I would have is that it wasn't long enough!

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/25/2015


An excellent country farmhouse with great facilities.

Guests stayed here during my wedding in December. We enjoyed the log fire and pool/music facilities the night before the wedding and had a lovely breakfast on the morning of the big day. All the rooms were of a nice spec. I imagine it's even better in the summer when the garden would be a bit warmer.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 01/09/2015


Ideal weekend retreat

We stayed at Winton cottage with family and close friends this past August when our son got married at Winton House. The cottage was in immaculate condition when we arrived and extremely well appointed. The whole process from booking, getting directions to the property, information about local amenities to final the check out, couldn't have been smoother.I need an excuse to return.....

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/29/2014

Manager Response

Thank you for a lovely review, we certainly enjoyed having you stay at Winton Cottage.We have some great last-minute deals on the Winton House website - so if you are looking for that excuse to return... you just might find it there....


Very comfortable and well appointed

Winton Cottage is located in beautiful country within 45 mins. of central Edinburgh (by car and train). It has a lovely garden and there are many beautiful walks that can be taken (20 min to 3 hours or more). There are 6 bedrooms - 1 independent on ground floor and 2 up one staircase and 3 up another. All bedrooms except 1 are en suite. There is very little missing from the kitchen that even the most earnest chef might desire (one recommendation, however, bring your herbs from home!). The crockery glassware and cutlery etc. are quite sufficient although it is a bit of a medley. There is a lovely dining room and well appointed living room with a good fireplace (sometimes essential even in a Scottish summer!). There is a huge games room with pool table and a garden shed containing a charcoal bbq and some games for adults and children. For those that have stayed in Landmark Trust rentals, Winton Cottage was a very worthwhile alternative!

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/28/2014


Comfortable accommodations in a wonderful setting

Winton Cottage is not really a cottage by my way of thinking. I would call it a comfortable country house in a beautiful, peaceful surrounding. It is well appointed with all the necessities that any traveler would expect. From nice big bedrooms with private baths, to a large dining room that would seat more than our group of ten, to a kitchen that had all the amenities, laundry facility, large screen TV, privacy - Winton Cottage has it all. The Winton team was quite accommodating and helpful during our two week stay. Any small complaints that we may have had would be insignificant compared to the overall quality of this experience - this sentiment would be echoed by all eighteen who stayed with us during our two weeks at Winton Cottage. Would highly recommend this property for a vacation - 30 minutes from Edinburgh and the airport; easy day trips abound. Great accommodations and had Jo's Kitchen prepare scrumptious meals for us to boot.

—John W on 06/05/2014


Winton House exceeded all our expectations - Great home for kids and extended family

We just got back from an incredible 5 week trip to Scotland and we can't praise our experience enough with the staff and the beautiful home, Winton Cottage. We traveled with a 2.5 and 5 year old, plus their grandparents. We home based at Winton Cottage for our entire trip. The cottage has a perfect layout for multiple families or in our case extended family. There are two separate upstairs wings to the house with two different staircases that lead to each wing. The "left" wing has two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The "right" wing has two bedrooms and two baths as well. The downstairs has the 5th bedroom and that room has it's own bathroom inside the room as well. The downstairs has the kitchen, library/fireplace room and the tv room (with pool table). The kitchen is set up with everything you need and there is a huge dining room table. The yard is dreamy!!! It is huge and has a sandbox for the kids too. We would take walks every night on the Winton Estate property and would visit the cows, sheeps and beautiful scenery. Winton Cottage is the perfect spot to home base for any period of time in Scotland. It is located in East Lothian and is 30 minutes from Edinburgh and 30 minutes from the coast and beautiful beaches. It was nice to come home every night and let the kids run around in the yard and breathe the fresh country air.The little town, Haddington, is 15 minutes away from the cottage and we spent a lot of time there. It is a picturesque historic town located on the River Tyne. Haddington is home to many historic places, including St. Mary's Church, which dates from the 14th century and is one of the three great pre-reformation churches in the Lothians. They have great playgrounds for the kids, a great grocery store and cute little shops and restaurants in town. There are great castles all around the Lothians and great day trips. Here are some of our favorites:North Berwick - Great beaches, boardwalk, bird center and great town. We went here a few times.Hailes Castle - Super close to the cottageRosslyn ChapelTantallon Castle - My favorite!Dirleton CastleThe Gardens in the back of St. Mary'sOur favorite restaurant/tea room in Haddington was on the river (on the path to the church) at a restaurant call Peter Potter Gallery. The restaurant is located above the gallery and they have the most incredible food. Yummy!You will love Winton Cottage and all the crew that works there.

—Adiyson on 08/01/2013


Excellent, charm-filled, accommodation in beautiful tranquil sur

The Winton website is excellent but even the glide through cannot entirely do this place justice. From the grand entrance to all of the beautiful furniture inside and the lovely gardens overlooking quiet countryside - I defy you not to have a relaxing weekend when you stay here. Lovely combination of old features but top level modern quality. For example a lovely country kitchen with sunny dining area - where you can listen to music on the sound system that controls the music in every room in the house. Bede gave us a very thorough tour and Rachel had been so thorough in advance it was never in doubt that this place is professionally run. No problems whatsoever with the accommodation during the stay - only regret is I forgot to write in the guest book! Highly, highly recommend it.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/03/2012


Relaxed and luxurious

Stayed for a week with 2 other families we know.Facilities were excellent. That rare balance between grandiose and comfortable. Very tasteful large cottage with excellent living space. We were surprised by the amount of living space for 12 people, it seemed more spacious than on the video walkthrough. Location was ideal for young families - lots of outdoor space for football and hide and seek, all within closed garden area and masses of wooded areas outside for the more adventurous.The owners and caretakers were lovely people and I thoroughly recommend taking the free tour of the house - it's a real treat!Only 2 negatives - the dishwasher struggled to get the plates clean and the pool table was broken by the previous guests. The owners tried to get it repaired while we were there but it needed more attention than they could give it.These were minor points, however and overall we'd go back again.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/17/2012


A first class accomodation in a beautiful setting

Getting the bride ready for her wedding day was such a pleasure in this warm, welcoming,beautifully decorated property. It made the precious time we had to spend with family,some who had come over from australia so perfect.Some wonderful photos, and precious memories and tearful farewells.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/26/2011


family celebration

what a fantastic location for a weekend of family celebration. the setting provided enough space, elegance and privacy to furnish both a wedding and 50th birthday party. unforgettable

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 10/17/2011


We had a fabulous time at Winton Cottage!

Winton Cottage is a wonderful house with lots of space for family and friends to come and go, enough privacy for everyone but with a delightful social and warm feel to the house. The rooms are beautifully appointed, large and have a good range of furniture. The conversion and decorations are lovely but not too "precious” or "antique” that we had to worry about having lots of boys in the house. The garden is beautiful, although due to the wet weather we did not use this as much as we would have liked. The younger generation enjoyed the pool table and small ceiling disco lights in the TV room. The house is also in an excellent location for people visiting from Edinburgh and very close to the a1. This is a great place to stay.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 08/10/2011


Delightful

Winton Cottage is a delightful place; although given its accommodation levels I would hardly call it a cottage. All the rooms are very well furnished, in particular the bedrooms and lovely bathrooms. The kitchen is well appointed and the extra utility room was very useful. We were a group of professional consultants working on a local planning inquiry and found the whole set up excellent as it enabled us to hold pre-session meetings and discussions all together. It is just a shame we were working as the ground to the cottage looked lovely - we did manage to sneak in a couple of games of pool though! Overall excellent and we'd be back if needed.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 07/07/2011


Big spacious cottage

Five couples stayed here for five nights. The cottage was perfect, with five large bedrooms, each with it's own bathroom, and plenty of gathering space. Winton Cottage is in a great location, close to several villages, castles, and golf courses. We had one minor mishap with a lamp and Rachel Mcaulay responded immediately. We would definitely stay at Winton Cottage in the future.

—Pat on 07/04/2011


Sunkissed & gorgeous

As I wrote in the visitors book ay Winton, we've holidayed in a lot of cottages around Great Britain. A lengthy discussion over a bottle of wine on the sunkissed patio in the gorgeous garden led us to the conclusion that Winton Cottage is the best we've ever stayed in. We absolutely loved it and we will be back.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/16/2011


Lovely setting, excellent accomodation

We were a golfing party of seven. Winton cottage proved to be ideal being close to many courses. It is set in a delightful country estate and is spacious and well maintained. Much time was spent playing pool in the evenings. When a couple of minor issues arose we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Much recommended.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/12/2011


What a fabulous house, well worth a visit...

We stayed at Winton Cottage in February this year to celebrate the 50th Birthday of a friend. Everything about Winton Cottage was fantastic - from the warm and friendly welcome from Harry the caretaker, with a lovely 'goody bag' to the lovely dressing gowns and slippers in each of the rooms. The house has a super quirky layout and the ability to get lost was a very endearing feature. We were blessed with lovely weather so we were able to enjoy the superbly maintained gardens. (As well as the dart board)We will most certainly be back to Winton Cottage, sooner rather than later!!

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 02/24/2011


Excellent base for a group of guys

We were a group of ten guys who wanted a place that was outside of Edinburgh but close enough that we could go into the city for an evening. We did the usual pursuits - clay pigeon shooting, whisky-tasting and some decent walks. We were fueled for the latter by a cooked breakfast that was arranged for us by the Winton team. A great cottage. Ample in size. Open fire and whisky in one room; pool table, flat screen tv and beer fridge in another. Warmly recommended.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/21/2010


A delightful week in Scotland

We enjoyed everything about our stay at Winton Cottage. It is spacious, comfortable and charming and also has all the modern conveniences (Hdtv, wireless internet, etc.). The location is perfect with easy access to Edinburgh and the main roads leading elsewhere in Scotland. Our group of nine had a great time and highly recommend this spot.

—John on 10/14/2010


Wonderful two week stay in Scotland

We rented Winton Cottage for two weeks for a combined family gathering and 40th wedding anniversary celebration. It's rare that any travel experience exceeds expectations but this stay was the exception in many ways. The cottage is beautiful and exceptionally well maintained, a special and historic place with all the modern conveniences. Its location on Winton Estate contributed greatly to our enjoyment - very quiet and peaceful while still close to Edinburgh and other areas of interest. Pencaitland and the surrounding countryside are easily reached by walking. We will highly recommend Winton Cottage to friends and hope to return soon!

—Hugh Landrum on 10/14/2010


Beautiful home in beautiful surroundings

Winton cottage is a very comfortable and spacious house. I stayed with my 3 children and their families, great layout for parents with young children. The games room became their play room with plenty space for toys and very safe. The kitchen is very well equipped as are the bedrooms and bathrooms and the whole house was warm day and night which was very welcome as we were there during an extremely windy and cold spell but having a wonderful open fire to sit round was bliss. We will definitely return.

—Angela M on 02/03/2016


Scotland in autumn - Half term family holiday at Winton Cottage

Lovely house for self-catering - plenty of room for all the family ( 8 of us - ages ranged from 4 to 99!!) Great-grandpa loved the lounge and books / boys loved the TV/gamesroom.Excellent location to explore Edinburgh, Firth of Forth coast, Tantallon Castle, and of course Winton Estate We would all recommend Winton Cottage after our wonderful holiday there.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/11/2010