Array ( [0] => 4442 )
  • winton castle
contact

Wintonhill Farmhouse Self Catering Reviews

6 Bedrooms, Wintonhill Farmhouse, East Lothian

Fantastic

Took a party of 16 here for a stag trip. House was fantastic and all of the guests were impressed . Fitted all in bedrooms well with 2 x z-beds which had all been set up prior to arrival. Everything was clean and tidy and instructions available if needed help with anything. Views were amazing.Organisation and staff were brilliant and helpful. Did the shooting during the stay which was also fantastic the staff were very helpful to those who hadn\'t shot before and every single person enjoyed this. Jo\'s kitchen came in and did a Sunday roast at the house which also everyone enjoyed. Had wi-fi onsite too.Thank you for a memorable experience!

—O7235HUdh on 05/31/2016

Manager Response

HI DanThank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, it was a pleasure accommodating your group at Winton Estate. We were delighted to read you had such a good time and made the most out of your activities - especially the Clay Pigeon Shooting.We hope you can make a return visit again soon.Paul.


Fantastic

Stayed here as part of the Vaughan party! My folks booked this for a large group of us to stay in prior to a family wedding in Edinburgh. The house is excellent, so much space for everyone and the kids that were with us had ample room to run around in. All of the bedrooms/bathrooms were huge and have plenty of storage space. The family style kitchen was great and we thoroughly enjoyed using the large wooden table, it was perfect for us all to be able to share our meals around. We were also luckily enough to enjoy some excellent weather so had the chance to roll out the BBQ....all equipment and lighting fluids were supplied as well for us.The surrounding grounds are huge and well maintained. A large walled secret garden at the back of the house was brilliant for practicing some golf or just kicking a ball against a wall! I went for a run on a couple of mornings and found that there was a large wooded area further up the main driveway which then led to some public footpaths.Location wise it was perfect, far enough out of the city to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside but only a short 20minute drive to the outskirts of Edinburgh. Surrounding villages were very convenient for grabbing some extra milk and bits if/when required.Overall an excellent stay and highly recommended.

—Davevaughan1983 on 05/03/2016

Manager Response

Dear Vaughan party!Thank you for taking the time to leave us this wonderful review. It certainly seems like you made the most out of your stay!We would be delighted to welcome you back to Winton Estate again as you were wonderful guests.Hope to see you again soon.Best wishesThe Winton Team


Excellent Overnight Stay

Overnight stay here with 5 other friends.Extremely well appointed accommodation with all items/ facilities provided that we required. Careful thought and attention to detail had obviously been put in.Bedrooms (and throughout) very clean and comfortable. Great night\'s sleep.Good sized living room (with real fire), dining room and dining kitchen. More than ample for our group and could have accommodated many more with little difficulty.Would thoroughly recommend for warm welcome, great accommodation and lots to do locally.

—Alasdair S on 10/06/2015


Lovely house for residential meeting, set in peaceful location

Enjoyed a one night stay in this great, characterful property, with colleagues from all over. The detached farmhouse is set in its own grounds with ample parking and no neighbours so privacy is assured. I was in the Winton View bedroom with wide open vistas across the estate. The lounge is very comfortable and spacious, and the meal laid on in the grand dining room was absolutely delicious, as was the wine. I would certainly come back.

—Andy1512 on 09/23/2015


Can we have our board meeting here again please?

Stayed here overnight prior to an \'away-day\' board meeting.The house is full of character and my room was very comfortable. Had an excellent evening meal in the large dinning room followed by some useful informal discussion in front of a open log fire in very relaxing surroundings. It was a great prequal to the formal board session in Winton cottage the following day. A great experience all round.

—David O on 09/22/2015


Fantastic Venue which exceeded all our expectations

17 of us stayed at WintonHill Farmhouse for a stag weekend in June 2015. The house was perfect for our needs, the beds were comfortable and the kitchen well equiped for all our catering needs. Easily accesible from Edinburgh airport- 10 minute walk to a lovely local pub, 4 miles to the lovely town of Haddington with some great bars and restaurants and only 10 minutes to Musselburugh Racecourse where we went to on the Saturday for a great days racing. I am looking at coming back next year with a wider family group for a weeks holiday

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/12/2015


Excellent accomodation for extended family break

Large estate house in rural location. Rooms well appointed but not en-suite. There are sufficient bathrooms and shower rooms this did not cause any problems during our stay. Large "farm kitchen" was ideal for meals or just sitting around. House was very clean on hand over.Located about 0.75miles from Winton House. Overall excellent accomodation and we will return for longer visit.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/11/2015


Brilliant weekend brilliant house

Beautiful setting and welcoming house perfect for large groups. This was a stag group of 12 and everyone fitted in comfortably. Big dinning table and large kitchen allowed for some great dinners. Cab ride to Edinburgh is pretty painless though the local cab firms weren\'t the most reliable. If you\'re looking for a caterer to help out ask for Jenny who was fantastic.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/05/2015


Large, enjoyable and comfortable spacious Farmhouse

As a group of 10 adults and two 2 year olds we found Wintonhill Farmhouse an ideal place to stay over New Year. With additional friends joining us for some of the meals we had up to 19 round the dinning table. Would suit a group of up to 12 better than the 14 there is allowance for. We received good response to a request for travel cots which we forgot to ask for in advance.

—Calum M on 01/08/2015


Fun Weekend

We looked for a property to accommodate 12 for a joint 60th/ 30th weekend bash. Wintonhill Farmhouse was a perfect choice with 6 bedrooms and within easy driving distance of Edinburgh. The farmhouse is located in beautiful East Lothian countryside with lovely walks on the doorstep. The house is extremely comfortable and well equipped with generous sized bedrooms, ample bathrooms and a large dining room able to take a formal dinner for 12plus. As recommended by the Estate, Jenny Mill of Townhouse Catering provided us with a superb dinner on the Saturday night. Through the Estate, we also enjoyed a great afternoon\'s clay pigeon shooting - which the ladies won! Wintonhill Farmhouse is an excellent venue for enjoying a family get-together and would have no hesitation in recommending it.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/03/2014


A farmhouse with so much character and warmth in the rolling hills of Scotland

We stayed at Wintonhill for the bank holiday in August for my very good friend\'s hen party. There were 11 of us in total and we all had a wonderful time. The farmhouse is rustic and what you would imagine an old farmhouse to be like - comfortable sofas and armchairs around a roaring fire, a big kitchen with a fab wooden table, crooked creaky floors and large bedrooms with wonderful views. They have a bathroom, called \'a loo with a view\', what more could you want? Plenty of space, everything you could want and need in the kitchen, a BBQ, plenty of games, a games room with table tennis and pool table. There a lovely walled off garden and great walks around the property. We spent one day at North Berwick beach, which is only 30 minutes away and a really clean, big beach with a yummy fish and chip shop and toilets with many awards! I would love to come back, any time of year, you would not get bored in a house like this and its so comfortable and you could look at the beautiful rolling hills all day.

—Biscuit1906 on 09/02/2012


One of the best we have stayed in

Rachel and her entire team provided an excellent service prior, during and after our rental at Wintonhill Farmhouse. In addition, the accommodation and furnishing throughout were to the highest standards and could not be faulted. The farmhouse could easily cater for a group of 12, without at any time feeling cramped or overcrowded. Overall our entire group thoroughly enjoyed their stay and would recommend Wintonhill farmhouse without hesitation.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 06/18/2012


Beautiful house

We were a group of irls staying for a weekend in the beautiful Wintonhill Farmhouse. We had such a lovely, relaxing time and were made to feel so welcome and at home with the place as soon as we were handed the keys.All rooms were a good size and after having dinner in the dining room we congregated around the fire with a nice glass of wine. I would highly recommend a stay in this lovely cottage and would love to return for a longer visit to explore some of the many walking trails in the area.Thank you to everyone who made staying here such a pleasure.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 04/10/2012


Excellent

This was really well equipped and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Lovely extra touches like welcoming vase of fresh cut dahlias,wine, tea and milk to relax people after their long drive.Tons of space and all the little children adored the games room.Expensive as a mere self catering house but also used as we did to invite a large family gathering for a Sunday lunch,it was perfect.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/26/2011


Dignified

Luxurious, spacious with plenty of garden/farmyard for children to play outside. Furniture is beautiful. It took a good while for 3 of us to work out that the stove has a glass cover on it which needs to be lifted before it will work. Lovely kitchen big table for many to eat and sit at.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 11/23/2011


spacious farmhouse

very spacious, but you do need a car to get around.

—Miriam on 05/23/2012


Great long-weekend in a beautiful big farmhouse.

I received exemplary service from Rachel during the booking process and when we arrived at the property. The farmhouse itself is well equipped with a fantastic big kitchen, sumptuous dining room and cosy living room. The bedrooms are well appointed and numerous - our party of 12 was easily accommodated. There is a private walled garden (the walls keep the East coast wind at bay so bring your frisbee), barbecue and outdoor seating.Nb If you\'ve watched the glide-through on their website - don\'t worry! The TV is a new flat-screen with a DVD player and not the 30 year old CRT device shown there.

—A FlipKey verified reviewer on 05/04/2012